Akwa United win 2017 Aiteo Cup final

– Gabriel Chukwu scored the winning penalty at the Agege stadium

– The game ended in a goalless draw after 90 minutes

– Akwa United were Federation Cup winners in 2015


Akwa United have won the 2017 Aiteo Cup final following a penalty shootout win over rivals Niger Tornadoes. It was the second consecutive season that the Federation Cup final (renamed Aiteo Cup) will be decided on penalties following FC Ifeanyi Ubah’s win last season. 

The game which was played at the Agege Township stadium ended goalless after 90minutes with both teams failing to create any clear cut chances.

Substitute Gabriel Chukwu scored the winning penalty for Audu Maikaba’s side in sudden death of the shootouts.

Akwa United, winners against Lobi Stars in 2015 will now qualify for continental football alongside earning a N25m prize money.

 1,010 total views,  2 views today